Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

help with my mercury throttle controls.

Hey all, I'm new to this particular forum so this will be my first post. I have a 1971 seabird 24 that I just installed a set of twin 1998 mercury 250 efis on and I just can't get the throttles to adjust properly. Here's the problem, the throttle just doesn't have enough range, when I adjust it so that they will come back to idle, they will only get to maybe 1/2 throttle with the controls all the way forward, the top flappers aren't even opening. I have a newer universal type mercury dual binacle setup, the one with the trim switches on the base of the assembly and a single trim switch that trims both engines on the left lever. The outboards came with an older quicksilver control box which is the one that i see more often then not with all older mercs, maybe i need to switch it but my newer mercury controls that are already on the boat are in much nicer shape. I feel like both of the throttle controls will have the same amount of throttle range, something else must be wrong. Is there any way to shorten up the throttle range on the linkage assembly on the engine itself?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, i can post pictures of anything in question if it helps.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Nothing? guess I'll have to call a marine mechanic.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)