Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

1995 Black max 200 xri efi - school me!

Hello S&F,

I'm new to outboard engines all together, but I am a pretty mechanical guy. I work on all my own cars and past jetski. I bought my first outboard boat a few weeks ago and I am trying to now learn more about this engine. I have done a ton of reading on here and other forums about Mercury engines, but it has almost left me more confused than before due to the amount of differences in what I originally thought where the same engines (merc V6 2 strokes). I hear thing like "steel bore" and "40 amp charging system vs 16 amp" and I understand what that is of coarse but I don't know what my engine has. I know it's a 2.5 liter and there are also 2.0s, 2.4s and 3.0s, but what's different aside from engine cubes? Can a 3.0 ignition system work on my engine? I'm pretty sure a "power head" is the engine itself minus the mid section and lower gear case, can a 3.0 promax power head drop onto my old mid? Would the cowl fit?

Basically I have a ton of questions about my engine and how it compares to other Mercs in a sense of maybe modding mine for more power. Are there any "cheat sheets" or charts that list the specs for the versions of 2.5s. Can anyone recommend a good "Haynes type" maintenance manual?

Any helpful advice would be appreciated. I hate starting such dumb threads but I can't seem to grasp what will and will not work for this engine.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)