Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Looking for some advice....

i am new to this site but have a feeling i will be on here a lot! so far everyone seems to know their stuff and be willing to help. I am somewhat new to outboard racing, i just bought a 17' Contender Tunnel hull with a 200HP Evenrude crossflow... looking to change over to a merc 2.5L. i really like OMC outboards but it seems for goin fast, the Mercs are where its at. What do you guys think? Can the OMC be made to compete with the 2.5's or do i need to sell it and go merc? I am running a chopper prop, exhaust has been cut and i run about 5800 RPM on the mat... do not know top speed i will put my GPS in it next time we go to the river.
    thanks
    Josh

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome aboard! There are plenty of folks on here that can fill you in on your motors potential. I've got the same boat as you but with Merc power. These hulls are fun but can be flighty. If you haven't already, do a search on here about em'. PH

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    It will take some mods and expense, but an omc can run as fast as a merc. If you want a turnkey fast motor, buy a merc. However, you will pay a lot more for a merc. Ultimately, your wallet will be a major factor in how fast you can go.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Welcome to the site. There are guys on this site that can make that OMC be all it can be. My concern would be the weight. Do a search, like Pete suggested, and find out what the boat likes. Above all, make it safe.
    Rock
    Team Junk

No sparkling wiggles in here, only dump truck grinches.