Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

Fuel pump ?????

If the stock fuel pump runs off vacuum, if the idle is low will that effect the pumps pressure? And the volume of fuel pumped????? I was told that the idle should be at around 900 in the water, which it will be 700-800 in gear. If thats the case I need to raise it, its only around 600 in the water and stalls if you punch it at idle. Wondering if that could be why the upper bowls dont stay as full.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    That's a good question. I think that the vacuum should remain consistent whether it's spinning a higher RPM or being pull-started. But I'm no pro. You're definatley a little low in the idle RPM range but lack of fuel in the bowls may be related to float hight. Once again, I'm just throwing it out there, I don't have a definate answer.

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Did you do a link and sync? It sounds like maybe the butterflies are opening before it is getting any timing

Ralph Musser
    27' Fountain Fever W/ 525SC
    22' Rapid Craft W/ Evinrude 300 V8 January 2009 BOAT OF THE MONTH SOLD
    24' Triton 240 Gold W/ Mercury 60
    14' Royalcraft W/ Evinrude 75 father/daughter project

Thanks (Given)
    Thanks (Received)
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    The pump runs off the pulse, not vacuum. the fuel pump will deliver more fuel at low idle that what the motor can use, this is why there is pressure. I have had motors idle at 500 rpm in gear with no problems. Sounds like your proble lies elsewhere as Riverratt suggests
    "One of the penalties for refusing to participate in politics is that you end up being governed by your inferiors". Plato .